New Owerri, Nigeria. On Saturday, July 15, 2017, seven deacons from the Province of East Nigeria were ordained priests at the St. Anthony Mary Claret Parish, New Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria. They are: Rev. Paschal Diala, CMF, Rev. Kingsley Egbujor, CMF, Rev. Samuel Iyagbe, CMF, Rev. Cornelius Nweke, CMF, Rev. Marcellinus Njeze, CMF, Rev. Cletus Uche, CMF and Rev. Dennis Uwakwe, CMF. The ordaining prelate was Most Rev. Wilfred Anagbe, CMF, the bishop of Makurdi Diocese who during his homily urged the new priests to “configure themselves to Christ whose priesthood transcends that of the Old Covenant. They are to share in the life of Christ who is zealous about the work of his heaven. The newly ordained should imitate our father founder St Anthony Mary Claret who was a tireless missionary.”

The occasion was graced by over a hundred priests and religious, the lay Claretian movement, the families and well-wishers of the ordinands.